Building Advisory Committee meets to advise new safety regulator

The committee was established under the 2022 Building Safety Act

The committee set up to advise the new Building Safety Regulator held its first meeting just before Christmas.  

The Building Advisory Committee (BAC) was established under the 2022 Building Safety Act as part of the government’s post-Grenfell fire disaster reforms. 

The BAC’s remit will be to assist the new regulator to address emerging issues across the built environment, while providing leadership across industry and drive change.

The committee members are: Richard Blyth, Hywel Davies, Andrew Lawrence, Simon Lay, Nick Mellor, Paul Mooney, Andy Mullins, Paul Nash, Suzannah Nichol, Benjamin Ralph, Niall Rowan, Aman Sharma, and Martin Taylor.

Hywel Davies, chief technical officer at CIBSE, said: ‘I look forward to serving on the committee to advise and support the new regulator in rebuilding confidence and trust in the sector.

‘The establishment of the Building Advisory Committee is the first of many measures to implement the new Building Safety Act and to deliver the regime to raise standards in the industry, across the whole industry and for all buildings.’ 

The BAC will be joined in 2023 by two other committees established by the Building Safety Act – the Residents’ Panel and the Industry Competence Committee.