Nominations for officers, Board and Council members

Board nominations for office from May 2019 AGM

New CIBSE officers, Board members and Council members take office each year from the AGM in May. Officers and Board members serve on the Board, which is CIBSE’s governing body. It comprises the seven officers (President, president elect, three vice-presidents, honorary treasurer and immediate past president) and five Board members.

Changes to the by-laws and regulations governing officer and Board member elections were approved at an EGM in May 2018, and Privy Council assent was subsequently received. Under the new arrangements, all candidates for officer and Board member vacancies arising at the AGM must be considered by the Institution’s Nominations Panel, to which all sections of the Institution are invited to suggest candidates. The panel seeks to reflect Charity Commission guidance by nominating a range of candidates with the skills and experience to fulfil the Board’s role as the governing body of a registered charity. It also seeks to ensure a balance of representation from different sectors of the industry.

Having considered the advice of the panel, the Board nominates candidates for president elect and Board member vacancies. Any eligible candidates proposed by the Nominations Panel but not nominated by the Board may also put their names up for election; on this occasion, however, no such candidates were put forward.

The board’s nominations this year are as follows:

President elect: Stuart MacPherson CEng FCIBSE
Members of the board: Les Copeland FCIBSE
Fiona Cousins CEng FCIBSE
David Fitzpatrick

The Board, having considered the advice of the Nominations Panel, also appoints three vice-presidents and the honorary treasurer to take office at the next AGM. These appointments are normally made from those who serve, or have served, on the Board, and all those listed below are current officers or Board members. The Board’s appointments to take office in these roles from the 2019 AGM are:

Vice-presidents: Ashley Bateson CEng FCIBSE
Kevin Kelly CEng FCIBSE FSLL
Kevin Mitchell CEng FCIBSE
Honorary treasurer: Adrian Catchpole CEng FCIBSE

The Council is a larger consultative body, which advises the Board on Institution policy. It includes representatives of Regions, Societies, Groups, Networks and Standing Committees, and elected members, who serve a three-year term. The Board has agreed to operate a similar procedure for election as that which applies to Board members, and two corporate and one non-corporate positions are available for election each year. The Board, having considered the advice of the Nominations Panel, agreed to nominate the following individuals. There were no candidates suggested for consideration by the Panel but not nominated by the Board, so the following candidates will be declared elected at the AGM in May 2019:

Members of Council: Sebastian Gray (Non-corporate)
Andrew Piper CEng MCIBSE (Corporate)
Linda Vidler CEng MCIBSE (Corporate)

Further details on the nominations process, qualifying criteria and biographical notes can be found in the members’ section at