Nominations for officers, board and council members

Further details of nominations process and criteria available on CIBSE website

nominations cibse news

New CIBSE officers, board members and council members are elected each year to take office from the AGM in May. Officers and elected board members serve on the board, which is the Institution’s governing body. It comprises seven officers – president, president elect, three vice-presidents, honorary treasurer and immediate past president – and five elected members.

The council is a larger consultative body that advises the board on Institution policy. It includes representatives of regions, societies, groups and standing committees, and elected members, who serve a three-year term. Two corporate members and one non-corporate member can be elected each year.

The board is required to nominate candidates for all officer and board member vacancies arising at the AGM. It is advised by a nominations panel, and all sections of the Institution are invited to suggest candidates for consideration.

The Panel gives careful thought to its recommendations and seeks to reflect Charity Commission guidance by nominating a range of candidates with the skills and experience required to fulfil the Board’s role as the governing body of a significant Registered Charity. It also seeks to ensure that the board includes a balance of representation from different sectors of the industry.

The board’s nominations this year are as follows:

President elect: Lynne Jack CEng FCIBSE FSoPHE

Vice-presidents: Ashley Bateson CEng FCIBSE, Kevin Kelly CEng FCIBSE FSLL, Stuart MacPherson CEng FCIBSE

Honorary treasurer: Adrian Catchpole CEng FCIBSE

Members of the board: P L Yuen FCIBSE

Members of council: Colin Ashford LCIBSE, Maria Longo

Further details on the nominations process, qualifying criteria and biographical notes can be found in the members section at

Nomination rules

Members of the Institution are entitled to nominate additional candidates for vacancies arising in May 2018, in accordance with the following rules, set out in Royal Charter, By-Laws and Regulations:

Fellows, Members, Associates and Licentiates may submit nominations for the offices of president elect, vice-president and honorary treasurer, and for elected members of the board. The candidates must meet the qualifying criteria, and must be supported by 10 nominations from Fellows, Members, Associates and Licentiates.

Fellows, Members, Associates and Licentiates may also nominate individuals from those grades for membership of council. Graduates, Companions and Affiliates (including students) may nominate individuals from those grades for membership of council. Candidates for council must meet the qualifying criteria and must be supported by five nominations from members in the appropriate grades.

Any such additional nominations must be made in writing to the chief executive, to be received at CIBSE headquarters by 31 January 2018, together with the written consent of the nominee to accept office if elected. The names of those making nominations will follow the name of the candidate on the ballot paper, should a ballot be required.