Lighterman win Teambuild 2016

24 companies represented in the annual cross-discipline challenge

Teambuild - winning team

A team of young professionals from companies across the construction industry solved a real-life construction challenge to win Teambuild 2016.

The Lighterman team (pictured) joined eight other cross-discipline squads – representing 24 companies – to compete in the annual event, which challenged members with a rapidly developing scenario based on a high-quality healthcare and biomedical research facility.

The competitors – each with less than six years’ industry experience – planned, designed and presented hypothetical proposals based around the New Papworth Hospital, a development on Cambridge Biomedical Campus.

Skanska and HOK provided the teams with real site information, which formed the basis of their competition scenarios.

Roll of honour

Winners (£2,000, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Constructors): Miles Christoforides (IStructE, Eckersley O’Callaghan); Claire Hicks (WSP Parson Brinckerhoff); Ahmad Khattab (ICE, WSP Parson Brinkerhoff); Richard Laplanche (CIOB, Kier Construction); Conor Maguire (ARB, Hawkins/Brown); and Matthew Vice (CIBSE, Hoare Lea).

The Procurement Strategy Prize (£1,500, Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects): We Built That, from Bam Construction, Eckersley O’Callaghan and HTA Design, including members of the BCU, CIBSE IStructE, RIBA and RTPI.

The Judge’s Prize (£1,250, most improved team over the weekend): Optima, from Buro Happold, Jestico +Whiles and Wates, including members from ARB, CIBSE, IET and RICS.

Excellence in Construction Prize (£1,000, Considerate Constructors Scheme):Omnia, a team from Aecom, Eckersley O’Callaghan, Hawkins/Brown, Mayer Brown and Sweco UK, with members from RIBA, ICE, CIBSE, Law Society of England/Wales and CNI (Italy).