Leadership focus for new CIBSE President Adrian Catchpole

New President urges all engineers to take a lead to implement change

New CIBSE President Adrian Catchpole FCIBSE has called for engineering leadership after succeeding Kevin Mitchell FCIBSE at the Institution’s AGM on 13 June. In his presidential address, Taking a lead, Catchpole outlined the challenges of climate change and building safety (see interview in July CIBSE Journal).

To attract young people to engineering, he announced a CIBSE STEM Ambassador Scheme (www.cibse.org/STEM) and a CIBSE Chartered Organisation Programme that will facilitate the demonstration of industry competence. Catchpole said he was also meeting professional bodies to discuss how to improve industry collaboration and procurement.

The AGM saw the announcement of the new CIBSE Board. Fiona Cousins FCIBSE is CIBSE president-elect, and the new officers and Board members are:
⬤ Immediate past-president Kevin Mitchell FCIBSE
⬤ Vice-president: Les Copeland FCIBSE
⬤ Vice-president: David Cooper FCIBSE
⬤ Vice-president: Laura Mansel-Thomas FCIBSE
⬤ Hon treasurer: Vince Arnold FCIBSE
⬤ Board members: Mike Burton FCIBSE, Lionel James MCIBSE, Ruth Kelly Waskett FSLL, David Stevens FCIBSE, Mark Walker FCIBSE.

More details at cibse.org/board.

The AGM minutes will be published in August’s Journal