CIBSE reveals nominations and appointments of officers, board members and council members

CIBSE Board announces candidates


New CIBSE officers, board members and council members take office each year from the AGM in May. Officers and board members serve on the Board, which is the Institution’s governing body.

It comprises the seven officers (President, president-elect, three vice-presidents, honorary treasurer and immediate past president) and five board members.

The Institution’s By-Laws and Regulations require that all candidates for officer and board member vacancies arising at the AGM must be considered by the Institution’s Nominations Panel, to which all sections of the Institution are invited to suggest candidates for consideration.

The Panel gives careful thought to its recommendations and seeks to reflect Charity Commission guidance by nominating a range of candidates with the skills and experience required to fulfil the Board’s role as the governing body of a significant registered charity.

It also seeks to ensure that the Board includes a balance of representation from different sectors of the industry. Having considered the advice of the Panel, the Board nominates candidates for president-elect and board member vacancies.

The Board’s candidates for vacancies arising at the AGM in May 2022 are as follows:

President-elect: Adrian Catchpole CEng FCIBSE
Members of the Board: Lionel James CEng MCIBSE, Ruth Kelly Waskett CEng MCIBSE, David Stevens CEng FCIBSE

The Board, having considered the Nominations Panel’s advice, also appoints three vice-presidents and the honorary treasurer to take office at the next AGM.

These appointments are normally made from those who serve, or have served, on the Board, and all those listed below are current or past officers or board members. The Board’s appointments to take office in these roles from the AGM in May 2022 are as follows:

Vice-presidents: Les Copeland CEng FCIBSE, Fiona Cousins CEng FCIBSE, and PL Yuen FCIBSE
Honorary treasurer: Vince Arnold CEng FCIBSE

The Council is a larger consultative body that advises the Board on Institution policy. It includes representatives of regions, societies, groups, networks and standing committees, and elected members, who serve a three-year term.

The Board has agreed to operate a similar procedure for election as that applying to Board members, and two corporate and one non-corporate positions are available for election each year.

The Board, having considered the advice of the Nominations Panel, agreed to nominate the following individuals for vacancies arising at the AGM in May 2022:

Members of council: Mike Burton (corporate), Andy Sneyd (corporate), and Sanjay Modasia (non-corporate)