CIBSE ANZ recognises young engineers’ talent

Regional chair announces two new award categories for 2024

Three young engineers were recognised for their achievements at the Australia and New Zealand (ANZ) Young Engineers Awards at the end of last year.

Max Eppelstun (Northrup Consulting Engineers and Australian National University) won the Mark Griffin Student of the Year Award, Vanessa O’Brien (Arup) the Haris Moraitis Graduate of the Year Award, and Deejan Ferrao (Green Building Council of Australia) the Jack Pirie Young Engineer of the Year Award. They all demonstrated exceptional skill, dedication, and creativity in their work.

Graduate of the Year finalists were Jerry Zhang and Steven Lam.

A keynote address was delivered by environmental scientist, author and broadcaster Rob Gell AM. He shared insights and perspectives on the pivotal role of young engineers in shaping a sustainable future, emphasising the importance of innovation and collaboration in the building services engineering field.

ANZ Chair Phil Senn praised the growth of and support for the event, and announced two new categories for 2024: Graduate Development Programme of the Year and Young Engineer Champion of the Year.

● For more on the ANZ Region and awards, visit